Fermer

Thesis and private life

t’s difficult to refuse to help a friend to move house or cut short an impromptu visit from your grandparents on the pretext that this is precisely the day you planned to work on your thesis.

Friends and family often find it hard to imagine the constraints of the doctorate and doctoral students must learn to defend time periods set aside for the thesis as a working period that must not be encroached upon by other activities.

Doctoral students must ensure that they’re not landed with all the family obligations and/or household chores by their spouse, family members or flatmate under the pretext that they « have the time » or « can organise their time as they like ».

Due to the traditional division of labour between couples and more generally within families, but also the social representations regarding this division, it’s often more difficult for women than men to safeguard thesis time in the face of conflicting demands.

While the time you devote to your doctoral studies must be strenuously protected, it is on the other hand very important not to let the thesis completely take over your life.

Giving up certain things (leisure, holidays, going out, reading) is a trap that any doctoral student may fall into, particularly during the most stressful phases of the thesis. It is however better to give yourself time to recharge your batteries not only for your health, but also to avoid getting too bogged down in the thesis or getting to the stage where you suffer from burnout.

Fermer

Thèse et vie privée

Difficile de refuser de donner un coup de main à un ami pour son déménagement ou d'abréger la visite à l'improviste de grands-parents sous prétexte que c'est justement le jour où l'on travaille sur sa thèse.

L'entourage se représente souvent mal les contraintes du doctorat et les doctorant-e-s doivent apprendre à défendre le territoire temporel de la thèse comme une période de travail sur laquelle d'autres activités ne doivent pas empiéter.

Les doctorant-e-s doivent veiller à ne pas se faire attribuer toutes les corvées familiales et/ou les tâches domestiques par leur conjoint-e, les membres de leur famille ou leur colocataire sous prétexte qu'ils et elles « ont le temps » ou « peuvent organiser leurs temps comme elles/ils le veulent ».

En raison du poids de la répartition traditionnelle des tâches au sein du couple et plus généralement de la famille, mais aussi des représentations sociales quant à cette répartition, il est souvent plus difficile pour les femmes que pour les hommes de préserver le temps de la thèse face à l'entourage.

Si le temps que l'on consacre au travail de doctorat doit être garanti, à l'inverse, il est très important de ne pas se laisser totalement dévorer par la thèse.

Renoncer à certaines choses (loisirs, vacances, sorties, lectures) est un piège qui guette chaque doctorant-e, notamment dans les moments les plus stressants de la thèse. Or, il vaut mieux se donner le temps de se ressourcer pour la santé, mais aussi pour ne pas s'enliser dans la thèse ou en arriver au burn-out.