Fermer
_fs_nccr_choix.jpg

Plant defenses: maize knows how to identify its target

Press release of March 18, 2013

Insect or microbe: plants recognize their attackers and respond by producing specific internal signals that induce the appropriate chemical defenses. That is the main conclusion of a study at the Center for Medical, Agricultural and Veterinary Entomology operated at Gainesville, Florida (USA)* by USDA’s Agricultural Research Service, to which the team around Prof. Ted Turlings of the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland, has contributed. The study is published today in the prestigious journal PNAS.
 
When attacked, plants produce cascades of molecular reactions aimed at neutralizing their specific opponents. In response to insect attack plants produce toxins that directly affect the herbivore, but they also emit an odorous cry for help that attracts natural enemies of the pest, thus ensuring indirect protection of the plants. However, the biochemical mechanisms which trigger these defenses were poorly understood until now.
 
The research to which the biologists of the University of Neuchâtel contributed is directed precisely at this missing link. It has led to the identification of a peptide called ZmPep3, which maize plants produce when their leaves are eaten by herbivorous caterpillars. This peptide triggers the production of insecticidal substances, as well as the emission of a particular odor that specifically attracts natural enemies of the pest, in this case a parasitic wasp that lays its eggs in the caterpillars.
 
To determine the attractiveness of odorous signals, the Gainesville team turned to the Neuchâtel group of experts, known for their discovery of the cry for help in plants. « With our experiments we demonstrated that ZmPep3 is effectively the signal molecule that elicits the production of a blend of volatiles that is highly attractive for the insect-killing wasps », says Ted Turlings. The researchers further found that after treatment with a different peptide, ZmPep1, which is itself produced in response to fungal diseases, maize plants launch a specific reaction against such pathogens, but without releasing the wasp attractants. The plant therefore really does adapt its responses to the adversary that confronts it.
 
« A good understanding of the specific defense responses in crop plants will help scientists to select and create varieties that are particularly effective at resisting some of the most voracious pests », states the professor of the University of Neuchâtel. It may even be possible to treat plants with synthetic versions of the peptides to boost these natural defenses.


Back

Contact

Prof. Ted Turlings
FARCE Lab
Tel. : +41 32 718 31 58
ted.turlings@unine.ch

 

Picture: Matthias Held, UniNE

Caterpillars Spodoptera littoralis with parasitic wasp Cotesia marginiventris

 

Reference:

A. Huffaker et al., Plant Elicitor Peptides are Conserved Signals Regulating Direct and Indirect Anti-Herbivore Defense, PNAS, March 18, 2013

Fermer
_fs_nccr_choix.jpg

Défenses des plantes : le maïs sait identifier sa cible

communiqué de presse du 18 mars 2013

Insecte ou microbe : les plantes reconnaissent leurs agresseurs et répondent par des signaux internes spécifiques qui déclenchent les défenses chimiques appropriées. Telle est la principale conclusion d’une étude à découvrir aujourd’hui dans la prestigieuse revue PNAS. Menée par le Centre d’entomologie médicale, agricole et vétérinaire de Gainesville en Floride (USA), l’étude s’appuie sur une contribution réalisée dans le sillage du Pôle de recherche national Survie des plantes par l’équipe du professeur Ted Turlings de l’Université de Neuchâtel.
 
Lorsqu’elles sont attaquées, les plantes produisent des cascades de réactions moléculaires qui ont pour but de neutraliser un agresseur spécifique. S’il s’agit d’un insecte, les végétaux produisent des toxines qui affectent directement l’herbivore, mais ils émettant aussi un appel au secours odorant qui attire les ennemis naturels du ravageur, assurant ainsi une protection indirecte à la plante. Cependant, les mécanismes biochimiques qui déclenchent ces défenses étaient encore peu compris jusqu’à présent.
 
La recherche à laquelle ont contribué les biologistes de l’Université de Neuchâtel se penche précisément sur ce chaînon manquant. Elle a permis d’identifier un peptide appelé ZmPep3 que le maïs produit lorsque ses feuilles sont dévorées par une chenille herbivore. Ce peptide déclenche la production d’une substance insecticide, de même que l’émission d’une odeur particulière qui attire spécifiquement des ennemis naturels du ravageur, en l’occurrence une guêpe parasitoïde qui pond ses œufs dans la chenille.
 
Pour déterminer le pouvoir attirant des signaux odorants, l’équipe de Gainesville s’est tournée vers le groupe d’experts neuchâtelois, connu pour ses découvertes d’appel au secours chez les plantes. « Grâce à nos expériences, nous avons démontré que ZmPep3 est effectivement la molécule du signal qui amorce la production d’un bouquet de molécules volatiles très attirant pour les guêpes tueuses d’insectes », précise Ted Turlings. Les chercheurs ont également découvert qu’après traitement par un autre peptide, le ZmPep1, qui, lui, est produit en réaction à des maladies fongiques, le maïs lance une réponse spécifique contre ce pathogène, sans toutefois diffuser de substance attractrice. La plante adapte donc bien ses réactions en fonction de l’adversaire auquel elle est confrontée.
 
« Une bonne compréhension des réactions de défenses des plantes cultivées devrait aider les scientifiques à sélectionner et à créer des variétés particulièrement efficaces pour résister aux ravageurs les plus voraces », estime le professeur de l’Université de Neuchâtel. Il serait même envisageable de traiter les plantes avec des versions synthétiques de ces peptides pour en accroître les défenses naturelles.

 

Retour

Contact

Prof. Ted Turlings
Laboratoire FARCE
Tél. : +41 32 32 718 31 58
ted.turlings@unine.ch

 

Photo: Matthias Held, UniNE

Chenilles Spodoptera littoralis avec guêpe parasitoïde Cotesia marginiventris

 

 

Reference:

A. Huffaker et al., Plant Elicitor Peptides are Conserved Signals Regulating Direct and Indirect Anti-Herbivore Defense, PNAS, March 18, 2013