Fermer
_fs_nccr_choix.jpg

Pollination: with small rewards come bad results

press release of August 24, 2012

The hawkmoth, a natural petunia pollinator, spends less time on Petunia lines that offer less nectar as a reward. That is the main result of a study carried out by Anna Brandenburg, a biologist at the universities of Berne and Neuchâtel with the support of the National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) Plant Survival. Published in the journal Current Biology, this study will be mentioned during the SOL 2012 - Solanaceae conference, taking place from August 26th to the 30th at the University of Neuchâtel.
 
Nectar plays a central role in most plant-pollinator relationships. It serves as a reward for services rendered by visitors that transport the plant’s pollen. In nature, certain orchid species do not honour this tacit agreement. Instead, the plant economises these energy resources which it might be able to relocate to other plant structures for its own advantage: vigorous growth, greater seed production or improve on its pest defence mechanisms.
 
However, can this pollination with a reduced reward work for cultivated plants in terms of increased yield? Anna Brandenburg decided to test this hypothesis on petunia, an ideal model plant for garden vegetables since it belongs to the same family as the potato or tomato, the Solanaceae family.
 
After performing multiple crosses for this research, the biologist was able to create petunia lines that produced a volume of nectar three times less than that of the standard Petunia axillaris. At first glance, it seems that the plant comes out ahead, since Anna Brandenburg observed that manual pollination resulted in an increased seed production (20% to 30% more) in the low nectar plants compared to P. axillaris.
 
However, everything changes once the natural pollinators come into play. The hawkmoth (Manduca sexta) clearly spends less time visiting flowers offering a smaller reward, which consequently results in a considerable reduction in seed production. Thus, a simple self-serving action of the hawkmoth, namely the reduction of drinking time per flower, is sufficient to prevent the spread of cheating Petunias.
 
This situation, however, is reversible. By adding nectar to the flower varieties that produce less nectar, Anna Brandenburg was able to attract the pollinators’ attention. Hence, with the hawkmoth staying longer on the plant, the quantity of seeds produced corresponds to the one that the biologist obtained with manual pollination. 

 

Back

Contacts

Dr Anna Brandenburg
Institute of Plant Sciences / Uni Bern
Laboratoire d’éco-éthologie / Uni Neuchâtel
 
Tel. +41 31 631 4952

 

Petunia and Manduca sexta

(c) Alexandre dell'Olivo

 

References
 
Anna Brandenburg, oral presentation, 29 August, SOL 2012, University of Neuchâtel.
 
Anna Brandenburg, Cris Kuhlemeier, and Redouan Bshary, Hawkmoth Pollinators Decrease Seed Set of a Low-Nectar Petunia axillaris Line through Reduced Probing Time, Current Biology, 26 July 2012. doi:10.1016/j.cub.2012.06.058

Fermer
_fs_nccr_choix.jpg

Pollinisation : à trop faible récompense, mauvais résultat

communiqué de presse du 24 août 2012

Un papillon, pollinisateur naturel du pétunia, passe moins de temps sur les lignée de fleurs qui lui offrent moins de nectar en récompense. Conséquence : la plante voit sa production de graines réduite. C’est le principal résultat d’une étude réalisée avec le soutien du Pôle de recherche national (NCCR) Survie des plantes et entreprise par Anna Brandenburg, biologiste aux universités de Berne et Neuchâtel. Publié e dans la revue Current Biology , cette recherche sera également évoquée durant le congrès sur les Solanacées SOL 2012 qui se tien t du 26 au 30 août à l’Université de Neuchâtel.
 
Le nectar joue un rôle central dans la plupart des relations entre plantes et pollinisateurs. Il sert à récompenser le service rendu par ces visiteurs qui transportent la semence de la plante. Dans la nature, certaines espèces d’orchidées ne respectent toutefois pas ce pacte tacite. La plante fait ainsi l’économie de ressources énergétiques qu’elle peut utiliser dans d’autres structures à son propre avantage : gagner en croissance, produire davantage de graines ou améliorer ses défenses contre des ravageurs.
 
Mais est-ce que cette pollinisation à « prix réduit » peut marcher pour des plantes cultivées, dans la perspective d’en augmenter à terme le rendement ?  Anna Brandenburg a choisi de tester cette hypothèse sur le pétunia, une plante modèle idéale pour des applications maraîchères, car elle appartient à la même famille – celle des Solanacées – que la pomme de terre ou la tomate.
 
Pour cette recherche, la biologiste a réussi à créer, après de multiples croisements, des lignées de pétunia produisant un volume de nectar trois fois inférieur à celui du standard Petunia axillaris. A première vue, la plante s’en sort gagnante, puisqu’en pratiquant une pollinisation manuelle, Anna Brandenburg a observé que les plantes à nectar réduit produisaient davantage de graines (20% à 30% de plus) que P. axillaris.
 
Tout change cependant sitôt que les pollinisateurs naturels entrent en jeu. Les sphinx du tabac (Manduca sexta) passent nettement moins de temps à se désaltérer sur les fleurs leur offrant une moindre récompense, ce qui a pour conséquence de réduire considérablement la quantité de graines produites. Ainsi, un simple geste « égoïste » du sphinx du tabac, en l’occurrence une réduction du temps de désaltération sur les fleurs, suffit à freiner la prolifération des pétunias « tricheurs ».
 
La situation est cependant réversible. Car en ajoutant du nectar aux variétés de fleur qui en produisent moins, Anna Brandenburg est parvenue à retenir davantage l’attention des pollinisateurs. Les sphinx du tabac restant plus longtemps sur la plante, la quantité de graines produites correspond à celle que la biologiste avait obtenue en procédant à une pollinisation manuelle.

 

Retour

Contacts

Dr Anna Brandenburg
Institute of Plant Sciences / Uni Bern
Laboratoire d’éco-éthologie / Uni Neuchâtel
 
Tel. +41 31 631 4952

 

Petunia and Manduca sexta

(c) Alexandre dell'Olivo

 

References
 
Anna Brandenburg, oral presentation, 29 August, SOL 2012, University of Neuchâtel.
 
Anna Brandenburg, Cris Kuhlemeier, and Redouan Bshary, Hawkmoth Pollinators Decrease Seed Set of a Low-Nectar Petunia axillaris Line through Reduced Probing Time, Current Biology, 26 July 2012. doi:10.1016/j.cub.2012.06.058